‘Spirited EP’ by Mikal

Price inc. VAT: £8.75

Track Listing

  • ‘Spirited EP’
  • Dust Audio
  • April 2017
  • DUAD008
  • 231344
  • Vinyl
  • 12 inch
  • 1

Tracklist: A. ‘Spirited’ ', B1. ‘Low Notes', B2. ‘Linear’

* Mikal takes his first bow for Dust Audio in the form of 'The Spirited EP'. The break and bass craftsman reigns down an assault of almighty weight for the imprint which holds no barred.

* Off the back of his critically acclaimed 'Wilderness' album on Metalheadz, Mikal continues to seek out the dance floor through his precision target and locks on for a serious assault of the senses.

* The EP’s title track “Spirited” see’s the sinister intro build up and transform into a bass laden drop. The stepping drums and jungle infused shuffles entwine with the ghost vocal, whilst the modulated bass will move even the harshest drum n bass skeptics. Unrelenting throughout.

* The flip sees Mikal spread his considerable studio talent over two further tunes of constant surprise.

'Low Note' wastes no time in getting to the drop before you’ve had chance to take a breath. A thunderous one note bass underpins the mid ranged reece and stabs whilst the chunky drums compliment the tidy percussion nicely. A haunting vocal then sets off another 16 bars of unclouded rawness.

* 'Linear' finishes the EP with aplomb. Synth chords open up into what you might expect to be a lovely liquid-esque style roller… think again! Mikal takes that premise and turns it upside down and inside out before bringing the dirty funk. Keeping in line with the 2 tunes before, this isn’t for the faint hearted. Definitely one for the drum & bass purest, who may well be dancing, but will also be taking down mental notes!

* Mikal and Dust Audio continue 2017’s release schedule in style…

‘Spirited EP’, Mikal, Dust Audio

More by Mikal ...

Drum & Bass and Hardcore Vinyl and CDs from IMO Records, London